This assignment for my Media 145 video class is about creating a 30 second video about Incentive. What motivates me?

At first, I couldn’t come up with anything! How is it possible to be totally unmotivated I wondered? Of course, there are motivations. Immediately coffee came to mind. Physically motivating. Then sunshine. Here in the pacific northwest just the sun coming out is invigorating. And, I have to at least walk Sam, if not myself. Getting to work on time. There’s no leeway there, if I want to keep my job. There are the usual motivators, money, desire. For me, it’s more about transformation, into a happier being.

Deeper and deeper I searched. Reading thought provoking books takes me to new levels of understanding. Definitely my school assignments. Then it hit me. Deadlines. I have worked with deadlines much of my life and they really motivate me. If I have all the time in the world to complete something, that’s how long it will take.

If you think about it, life has a deadline. It’s called Death. And, since we don’t know exactly when that will come, living each day to the fullest should present a deadline of sorts. This is a maxim of many great schools of thought around the world and through the centuries. Not a morbid fascination or forbidding fear. Just a realization that all this will go away some day.

Then, I found this Leonard Cohen song, Waiting for the Miracle. Perfect.

This is my first version of the video:

So… how much do you appreciate each day? Are you waiting for that ‘miracle’ before you can progress? The time is Now.

Thanks to Columbia Records for allowing me to use this copyrighted music.

