The inspiration word for this technique sample is, Compassion. My first attempt was the video you see above, with the male ducks sparing. This is the opposite of compassion. Ducks, I’ve learned, are not very compassionate. I particularly like how the winning duck takes a poke at an innocent bystander just for good measure.

I’m entertained by this sequence and I was fortunate to capture it; however, it is not suitable for this technique. The subject looks normal sized, with blurring added. This is not an accurate tilt-shift look.

The idea of tilt-shift is to create a miniature look, and is usually done with still images. It is more easily accomplished from a high vantage point, from a distance, and it helps if the subject is small.

When my instructor, Renne Emiko Brock, learned I was taking a trip to the beach for a previous video class, she said, “Get B roll!” So, I dipped into my archives and found this sequence taken at my and Sam’s favorite beach. Lots of sand and perfect for kicking the shoes off and walking through the gentle surf.

It’s an improvement. This is one of my first attempts at video. I had a Nikon D610 on a tripod, high on a bluff. However, my panning needs practice, as this is a bit stiff and thus shaky.

In Premiere Pro, one has to create the tilt-shift look using blurring techniques and a mask. Plus, you will want to heighten colors and add a little ‘grain’ via noise addition using Effects.

